5.24 The Return of the Ring – SYNOPSIS (Season Finale)

BLAIR MAKES A CHOICE BETWEEN THE TWO MEN IN HER LIFE — When Gossip Girl goes after Blair (Leighton Meester) as she’s never done before, Serena (Blake Lively) admits she may have unintentionally played an important role in Blair’s latest nightmare. Meanwhile, Nate (Chace Crawford) invites Lola (guest star Ella Rae Peck) to move in with him, and Lily (Kelly Rutherford) must make a big decision about the future of her marriage. Finally, by episode’s end, Blair will make a choice between the two men in her life…will it be Chuck (Ed Westwick) or will it be Dan (Penn Badgley)? Kaylee DeFer and Matthew Settle also star. J. Miller Tobin directed the episode written by Sara Goodman.

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D

18 thoughts on “5.24 The Return of the Ring – SYNOPSIS (Season Finale)

  1. claudiebam says:

    She have to choice Chuck…

  2. Steph says:

    OMG return of the ring? is this the HARRY WINSTON RING? omg pleeeeease let this be true 🙂 i really hope Blair will finally go off and be happy with Chuck. that’s how it’s supposed to be.

  3. ChairFan says:

    What if the ring comes back and Chuck has to choice if he wants to keep the ring or not?! And then he says yes to give the ring away, meanwhile Blair chooses Chuck. But then its too late and we have the cliffhanger…
    Sorry for my pessimism, but I don’t want to get to excited =/

    • `toomuchpurple says:

      I think Chuck will be more ‘I’m done chasing you’. But then she chooses him and they won’t have the cliffhanger, I see Serena and Dan and even Rufly having a cliffhanger more than CB.

      • love&chairriage says:

        Mentioning Rufly makes me think that this could also be Lily returning the wedding ring to Rufus. I want so bad for it to be Chuck’s ring returning to Blair’s finger, but I just have no faith in the writers/producers. Uggh!

      • Nichole says:

        I think the ring will have more to do with Lily and Rufus more than it will Chuck and Blair. I’m sure Blair’s ring will make a return appearance this episode, but I don’t think it is going to be a big thing. The thing I think will be big think and hence the reason for the title will be the status of Lily’s ring…*wink-wink*

  4. Laura says:

    do u think there is a slight chance of chuck rejecting blair?because i’m tired of them being apart.i want them together by the end of the season 5 so that season 6 would be like the first half of season 3

  5. LunaSeasMoonChild says:

    Hmm… I’m thinking… maybe when Chuck and Blair reunite, they will opt for a long engagement? Or maybe, rather than an engagement ring, they have a promise ring?

    because now that I think about it, a Chair engagement right after Blair breaks things off (hopefully permanently) with Douchebag Donut, will leave a sour feeling. She got married this season, divorced, jumped into a relationshit, and then gets engaged within the same year? Hate to say this, but… I’m a big fan of Chair, I’ve always been rooting for them, but… Blair is going to come off as cheap. X_x

    • Nichole says:

      You made me think of something, LunaSeasMoonChild. I remember when GG first started Serena’s character was almost a parallel to Lily in they were rich, blond, beautiful and had men falling to their feet. Now it seems that Blair’s character is now parallel to Lily with her being, rich, beautiful, married, divorced, jumping into a relationship when she really is in love with another man. The only difference between the two would be the obvious hair color because as ruthless as Lily is being right now, Blair can be and has been just as ruthless. Think it is an interesting parallel right now. Maybe, that dynamic will have some insight into whom Blair will pick in the end. Hopefully, she will chose what her heart wants and her heart wants Chuck. 🙂

  6. love&chairriage says:

    I hate to be a pessimist, but the title “The Return of the Ring” is almost too ovbious to be true. I mean of course we are going to assume (pray) that they’re talking about the Harry Winston and that Blair is choosing Chuck. My fear is because of Safran’s previous spoiler stating that things would never be the same after this episode. This would be the first time Blair has truly chosen someone else in the season finale. Even season 4 she was going to choose Chuck, but Chuck stopped her. I would love for this to finally be their happily ever after. But I am too jaded with the writers at this point to get my hopes that far up. What I DO think is if she chooses Dan there is no going back. I’m honestly not sure I will ever watch it at that oint. Do you guys really think there is a chance of Chuck being the one?

  7. grace says:

    This is too good to be true. It seems to me they took that Carolyn girl notes and made the synopsis. I really hope this Season Finale is not one of the latest Joshua Safran’s anticts before ‘Smash’ because it’s all too good to be true.

  8. love&chairriage says:

    Another thought, someone refresh my memory. Can’t remember which episode…but didn’t Dan have a box with a ring in it for Blair before she got married, but Rufus told him it wasn’t the right time? Someone please tell me if I’m dreaming. I just hope that Blair chooses Chuck. If not she needs to be alone or possibly choose Chuck, but he says no to her. Either way, she can’t possibly choose Dan, but I could definitely see that as Safran’s last hurrah.

    • `toomuchpurple says:

      Dan never had a box with a ring that I remember of. And seriously, even if he had, would be a joke if he thinks of using it (and a little desperate considering his story with Blair is great at all).

  9. LunaSeasMoonChild says:

    I just thought of something. Maybe Blair gets back the Harry Winston ring and gives it to Chuck as a sign that she’s choosing him? Not clearly an engagement for them, but like I said, it serves as a promise ring? X_x holy crap. I don’t want to get my hopes up. Ack, it’s because of the news of Safran’s resignation that I’m getting my hopes up demmet, but he’s still on board this whole effing season. But yeah, I can see where the others are coming from when they see this synopsis as being too good to be true. I need to tone down my Chair hype coz if I don’t, I’m going to be extremely heartbroken and motherchucking pissed. ;_; >_<

    But I really doubt they'll end this season with Ban if they're hoping to improve the ratings for next season. The show's already in danger enough as it is and I think they learned the hard way that daring to Dair got them "bankrupt" in terms of ratings instead of raising it as they had hoped. At this point, they've dragged out Chair's separation long enough, that if they further it, I think fans will get tired of waiting. X_x So, I'm opting for an ending similar to S02. *crosses fingers*

  10. Chair Love says:

    Sorry I have been out of the loop for a while holidaying with my family did i read safran is to resign ? figures ! send our show down the toilet with blonut then walk away he is exactly what I thought he was !
    I wonder if it was forced ?

    • LunaSeasMoonChild says:

      Yes, the word is Safran will be leaving GG to be a producer/writer/whatevs in the show ‘Smash’. For me, I think Safran was quietly let go, but they don’t want others to know, so they’re making it look like his leaving is because of having another project. But if he did resign on his own, well, I’ll say it’s either because he knows he made such a failure of the show, or he can’t stand the heat he’s getting from the fans. But heck, he deserves the flames and trolling from the fans. XP

      But I say, good riddance.

  11. Sade white says:

    I hope it’s chuck, I hope they get married and ride off into the sunset but with the writers crazy, u can’t keep hope alive.

Leave a Reply

