5×17 Afterthoughts, sort of

I wanted to make a recap or a speculation post because I just watched the Chair (and sadly Dair) scenes but I’m too messed up for that now. One thing is sure, Chair will never be over. Not because of the upcoming bad Dair sex, not even because Dan is a manipulative sob and not even because Blair is saying that her feelings for Chuck have changed. They will never be over because after Nate, Marcus, Elle (or Ella, I don’t really remember her name), Carter, Vanessa, Jack, Jenny, random frat guy, Eva, Louis there’s not a person in the world that can convince me that Blair and Dan ending up together is something that remotely makes sense. Dair is rushed and makes zero sense and I’m sure it will be over as fast as you can say “Brooklyn poser” so please keep calm and don’t give up. This is why I’m writing this post at this obscene hour. For any Chair fan that feels betrayed, or angry, or sad because I saw many tweets and tumblr posts where people were hating on Blair or felt like everything is pointless. You can’t give up because Blair is not herself and because we, like her, must see this through to the end.

And we would also like to thank everyone that watched Victor/Victrola and tweeted with us tonight. We trended it for more than one hour straight while nothing Dair related trended, just saying. So, be proud of this fandom and never give up on Chair.

About Je t'adore

I'm Cath but you can call me C. I graduated from University a few years ago and I have a degree in English and French lit. I write but I don't consider myself a writer, I've yet to let go of all my inhibitions and explore human nature. Maybe one day, when I'm grown up enough. CBthePP is a safe haven for me and one of the things I'm most proud of because it has given me so much and because I get to share it with so many wonderful people, including our readers.

19 thoughts on “5×17 Afterthoughts, sort of

  1. Ashley says:

    The Chair fandom kicks ass. We are totally making ourselves known. I agree, never give up in even in this dark, dark time b/c Dair is temporary. I’m sure of it and even though they disgust me I know ultimately it will just be an obstacle to Chair. Great post. And as you mentioned, noone else has ever ultimately been able to come between Chair so why would anyone think Dan could? Chair has real history, development, and growth over 5 seasons that Dair just doesn’t. Nothing can change that.

  2. Linn says:

    I hated this episode! Dair sex? What the hell. Blair made me sick in this episode! And Dan too. I think I’m gonna throw up! I’m so tired of this Dan and Blair stuff! The whole Blair/Dan thing was much more fun when she come with her comments, now it is just.. sickening. Poor Serena, poor Chuck! I could never ever do this to my best friend, even when Serens said she would not get in the way, Blair knew Serena had feeling for Dan, and then people don’t do such a thing to their best friend.

    But yes, you are probably right, we can’t give up.

    • Je t'adore says:

      We know, believe me when I say we feel the same way. What Blair is doing to Chuck and Serena is disgusting but like I said, that is not Blair. After almost 5 years and declarations of eternal love, Dair wouldn’t have been possible without stepping on some bodies. I don’t know why they felt like assassinating Blair like that but that doesn’t mean this is the end for Chair. She just has to redeeme herself.It is very hard for me to inspire people not to give up because I’m very upset myself but Itry to look at the bigger picture. And what I see is no future for Dair.

      • Ashley says:

        Yeah I agree. Even Cecily, the GG book writer, knows Dair is doomed. It’s not going to last because Blair is not being herself and that was the only way this relationship could happen.

      • Linn says:

        No, it is never the end of Chair, but I don’t know if anyone is like me, but when I take crap like this from these shows over and over and over again, I don’t want it anymore. now I just really want Chuck to break Blair heart before they can be together, he takes too much shit from that girl! And she is always the one that push him away and say that they can’t be together yet, and he wait and wait and wait.. All he has done for like two seasons now is wait, and I’m so sick and tired of it, he used to be so amazing character on this show, but now he is soooo boring. You seem very mature who at least try, and it is good, I will give it some more time too! Chair better be the end game, But Chuck have to get some real girlfriends first, please let Blair taste what that feels like. I must seem cruel or something, but no, I’m really not!

        Sorry about my english too, I’m from norway and didn’t learn very much from my english teacher.

    • Ashley says:

      That’s the worse part about all of this IMO, what Blair is doing to Serena. How could Blair do this when she KNOWS that Dan is the love of Serena’s life? It’s just so wrong. It’s not at all like Serena dating Nate and I’m SO over Dair fans bringing that up, because Blair was already in love with Chuck and over Nate when Nate and Serena got together as a couple. And yes, Serena slept with Nate when him and Blair were together but she felt so horrible and it didn’t happen again until him and Blair was over. It was a one time thing, not a relationship I don’t see any real guilt on Blair’s part for what she’s doing to Serena either.

  3. I have actually decided to boycott Gossip Girl. I don’t think I can stomach any of the Dair stuff, just because i’m a Chair fan to the core. Just the fact that Blair would even CONSIDER dating Dan, even though she is aware that Serena loves him shows me how much they’ve murdered her character. What happened to the NJBC? They aren’t meant to stab each other in the back like this. I’ve honestly given up hope on Gossip Girl. Not Chair necessarily. But definitely on Gossip Girl.

  4. Steph says:

    i can only say these 3 things: 1. OMG can’t that nasty Dair thing off screen, 2. bring back our beloved and the golden couple of the show = Chair and 3. GEORGINA kicks ass 🙂

  5. Steph says:

    i meant get that nasty dair thing off screen omg i’m sooo fed up i even can’t type no more :d

  6. Annalino says:

    Im upset, glad i didn’t watched last night’s crap because i feel very sick now! im not ok with the 360° they did with the storyline.They could had done dair happening without destroying Blair’s character,her friendship with S and most important thing Chuck! he’s “the one she never wanted to leave”,”she loves him more and more everyday…”then BAM! the storyline changed ,they want us to believe that B is in love with D,not with C and AWFUL detail: they stole our “say it twice” from chair reunion in 225!

    I WILL ALWAYS LOVE CHUCK AND BLAIR but for now i need a break,my heart is broken,im wondering if the writers plan to reunite them and if it’s true how they will make us forget this insanity!

    * i changed my tumblr name,an hommage to my ship;if you want to share your frustration my askbox is ready lol

    http://annalinovictrola.tumblr.com/

  7. grace says:

    Right now, i’m feeling just like Izzie in Grey’s Anatomy Season 2 Finale after Denny Duquette death.

  8. strawberriesandtiaras says:

    I changed my mind and watched the episode obline today. And probably you will all start yelling at me, but besides stupid Dair storyline I really enjoyed it abd I thought I would be bear vomiting but it was much better than I had feared. Georgina really brings Gossip Girl back to life, I mean she really brought Chaos and she is damn quick in actions. I like her :-). And Ivy… cool. I liked it that she now owns the appartment of this entirely superficial and frigid Lilly and her waffle maker. And due to all this Chaos the Dair “love” story really faded far into the background. Thank you! I already feared it to be much more in spotlight. That fact reassures me that the writers don’t really emphasize too much on Dair, and that Dair will be over before it begun. You can see that also in the new promo where they for they cut ridiculous figures for Dan and Blair already (oooohhh…poor Muppet has difficulties to man up… you see Blair! With Chuck this would have never been a problem) and then Blairs Negligee that makes her look everything else but sexy. No one and no writers take Dair for serious. As toomuchpurple said.. Blaur is not herself at the moment and I am sure that she’ll be back soon longing for her true prince Charles Bass. Wow Blair, you better alteafy think of a good strategy. So I lean back and enjoy watching

    • strawberriesandtiaras says:

      lots of false typing … sorry… too quickly typed and my phone doesn’t write the letters I type in correct

    • grace says:

      I wish i had your confidence that things will get better, that it’s just a phase, the writers are not taking seriously Dair together. But this “not taking seriously” is costing a lot to Gossip Girl (the show itself,the characters,storylines,development…).
      What/Who else will be sacrificed?

  9. Emma says:

    josh safran and the other writers they feel related to loseres like Dan
    So they root for him and they even made Blair the perfect selfish trashy pair for him this not gossip girl show this something else and since when Blair need gorgena’s help she is become weak and disgusting and really I told chuck he dose not have my heart

Leave a Reply

