Leighton Meester: beauty queen

Leighton Meester is very pretty, but there’s something else happening when you look at her.  She has apple cheeks, a moon-sliver smile, and deep liquid eyes that seem to have been poured straight into her skull with a baby-doll dropper.  When the Grimm Brothers wrote of Snow White’s forest-bound beauty, they’d probably just seen Leighton’s ancestral twin.

Fun facts about Leighton Meester:  Her middle name is Marissa.  She modeled for Sofia Coppola when the director was an aspiring fashion photographer.  She invited her real friends to play her “fake” friends on the Cobra Starship video, Good Girls Go Bad.  She is not afraid of neon.  She is the new(ish) face of Lovestruck, the latest perfume by Vera Wang.

It’s this last bit that brings us together with our two-time cover girl again.  We sat with the 25-year-old on a couch at Manhattan’s James Hotel and got the scoop of Leighton’s latest adventures.


When did you first meet Vera Wang?  I met her at a fashion show last Fashion Week, almost a year ago. It was a big Vogue thing for Fashion’s Night Out… All the designers were showing a bunch of their stuff, and it was outside; they had a huge performance and it was very fun. I saw Vera from across the way, and she was gesturing to me, “I wanna talk to you!” I was like, “What?! Me?!”  And then two days later, I got a call about Lovestruck and of course I was very excited. It’s wonderful.

How did you feel the first time you smelled the perfume?  I was really happy, because I was dying to work with Vera, and obviously I was very happy that it’s a beautiful scent. Like, “Thank goodness!”  But I really think the thing that was most amazing for me was the idea behind [Lovestruck] and the whole Romeo and Juliet story that was the concept for the shoot.  And then Vera herself, who’s just the most amazing woman…

Tonight, Vera told us that Lovestruck wasn’t always about loving the right guy.  Then she told us to party on.  She’s kind of funny.  Oh, just kind of?!  Vera Wang hilarious. She’s hilarious and she is very down to earth, and she’s just lovely.

You shot this campaign in the dead of winter, in a strapless dress.  And you don’t look like you’re going to die – not even in the paparazzi outtakes. How?!  It was a mixture of excitement, and maybe a bit of denial. And mostly it was just that everyone was so kind, and I was just up in my on little world. I was up on a balcony pretty much all by myself the whole day, so it was very peaceful up there. And they were blasting heaters at me and bringing me hot tea constantly. I was jumping around so it really wasn’t bad. But actually, when I looked down, everyone was in parkas, so they were obviously freezing. Maybe because I was higher up it was less cold up there? Or maybe I’m just, yeah… I was in denial. That’s all.

That dress was Vera Wang couture.  Did you keep it? No, but that’s okay.  I got to wear it all day, and there are so many photos, so it’s done; I’ve worn it all the way!

What beauty tips have you learned from the Gossip Girl set?  Well I get my hair and make-up done pretty much everyday, so I definitely have paid attention!  I think the best tips are more about skincare and, sort of, skin health- taking off all your make up, being meticulous about that. I think being healthy on the inside is a big part of it. As far as actual make-up, my philosophy is just a little bit goes a long way, and I think that’s good enough for me.  My make-up artist is an artist when he does my make-up. I’m definitely not as knowledgeable, by any means. So what I do is minimal, because I can’t pretend I know how to pull complicated beauty looks off on my own.

What’s on your iPod? Oh my gosh, everything!  Somebody asked me that the other day; I was like, “you don’t want me to go there.”  They started scrolling through my music, got halfway through the “a” songs, and were like, “this is too much.”

What’s new on there?  I’ve been getting really in to Led Zeppelin!   I know that I’m years late, but I was listening to the Robert Plant/ Alison Krauss album, Raising Sand.  I was obsessed with it, so my friend was like, “You should really listen to everything by Led Zeppelin.” So now I’m obsessed.

What’s your favorite historical period?  God, I love the 1500s in England!  I love the time of Henry VIII, the stories behind all his marriages, and how crazy that time was. And sort of that whole era- even though it’s sort of depressing, it’s like Protestant vs Catholic, like that whole thing, but I love it. I also love the Roman times- Ancient Rome- I think that’s really fascinating and very cool.  I definitely wouldn’t want to live in any other time but now though.  I like running water and that kind of thing!

In your opinion, who is Blair Waldorf’s soul mate?  I mean, you have to watch this season because it all gets crazy. She is getting married to the Prince… I mean, she’s planing her marriage, she’s getting married. So she is planning all that, and there is somebody pregnant, so there’s all kinds of drama with that. And of course, Chuck is still in her life, but not in that [romantic] way because she’s engaged. And then there’s Dan and that relationship and what happens with that. I don’t know, there’s all kinds of things happening.  I love obviously working with all of [the male actors]. But for Blair… I think Blair deserves a Prince, don’t you?

Totally.  The thing about The Prince is he hasn’t really done anything deceitful or betraying to Blair, unlike everyone else in her life… I think he’s a really good guy.  So I like that for her!
–FARAN KRENTCIL — nylongmag.com

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D

15 thoughts on “Leighton Meester: beauty queen

  1. Ema says:

    I wish there were spoilers about the season already! I am so anxious to know if she actually ends up marrying the prince. I hope they go through with the wedding, and as soon as Blair is supposed to say “I do”…she says “I….I’m sorry, I can’t.”, and runs back to Chuck’s apartment lol. Hey, I can dream. 😛

    Oh, and I just thought of a great comparison to the Blair-Chuck-Dan trio. Remember the show “Friends”? Well:

    Blair=Rachel
    Chuck=Ross
    Dan=Joey

    I am not saying they are completely alike, because they differ significantly. BUT… I remember when the writers tried to have the Rachel-Joey pair, and there were a new set of fans who rooted for them (much like for Blair and Dan). Then Rachel had a baby with Ross (possibly Blair and Chuck)…and Rachel and Ross end up together at the end!

    Okay, so I know it’s a stretch, but Ross and Rachel & Chuck and Blair are my two favorite couples that have ever existed on T.V.

  2. kalinesska says:

    Hey 🙂 I know it’s not about this post, but have you seen that on Twitter :

    @GGWriters
    Gossip Girl Writers
    Lots of great stuff shooting today. Including a surprising new cast member (who isn’t quite a guest star)…

    hmmm…. new REGULAR cast member.

  3. grace says:

    So,basically Leighton summarized the first half of Season 5 without asking fans to follow her on twitter.
    Ironic?

    • `toomuchpurple says:

      Uhm my guess is that she’s been told to say something but not take a side. We know how some fans can’t accept her preferences… She’s confirmed pretty much what we already knew. lol

    • E says:

      Why would she have to ask her fans to follower her on twitter? I am confused by this..

    • grace says:

      Actually, i was referring to GG Writers who sometimes ask the fans follow them in exchange for spoilers.
      It was a joke about the GG Writers ‘Penultimate’ Trolling on Twitter this week.

      • `toomuchpurple says:

        Oh I thought you meant Jess since she sent DM to everyone of her famous friends asking to “follow YOU girl” lmao 😛

        I don’t think the writers want to gain more followers. It’s in a way bad for them because people would ask for spoilers when they reach a considerable number of them, and I’m sure they don’t want to give anything away at this point, if you think a promo is yet to be released when other CW shows already got a 30 sec. one and also some shows alreay have promo pics and a synopsis!

      • grace says:

        I bet that in one or two weeks we will have promo/stills/synopsis and probably with a lame slogan:’The Best For The Last.’

      • `toomuchpurple says:

        Way to troll us. 😛 I just hope this means it’s the last season and they want us to get annoyed they don’t give away anything. Or probably they’re doing this because they want us to wait and wait so our so called love for the show will be kept alive by waiting.

  4. lari says:

    I really dislike how the show is so unrealistic.how can blair be in love with chuck, the prince, and then dan?? it’s all too silly. no one in real life is in love with three different people!!! the show has gone waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay downhill. if it weren’t for leighton and ed, i would have stopped watching this show a long time ago.

    • `toomuchpurple says:

      That’s how I see it. Blair loves Chuck, but as she also says in the finale she loves Louis too. These types of “love” are different. She loves Chuck dearly, deeply, consumigly that she would risk her life to saw him. He is her unforgettable and very first love as I just count Nate in the story as a teen obsession. Louis is the simple love, a guy she can love without the fear of being hurt, but this love she feels for him can’t be compared as we know to the love she feels for Chuck. Above all, I don’t think Blair could (like on the other hand Serena does) fall in love deeply with someone she barely knows and barely knows her, that’s why in my opinion one day she’ll acknowledge and realize that although the life she would live with him would be the realization of her teenage dream, it’s not what she really wants in her heart because she knows who loves more. About Dan, I HIGHLY, FIRMLY, doubt what she feels for him is “love” in the romantic meaning. Either way, there are times I consider this show poor and lacking of consistence, and others I actually feel like all the things parallel between them and make sense. Of course there’s a lot of lacks in stories and there’s a lot of contrivance and hypocrisy and contraddiction, but you don’t just have to focus on that. Believe that sooner or later it’ll be over. I’m sure we’ll get our reward in the end.

Leave a Reply

