What did you think of this season? – POLL

What did you guys think of this Season 4? Was it good? Did you like it? You think it could have been better if something happened? Will you tune in for Season 5?

Vote in our poll and let us know. Also comment! I like to read what you think. ๐Ÿ™‚

About purplebass

hey, you! Thank you for stopping by. I'm Tweety, and I am a girl who loves writing, reading, and watching stuff on TV and write reviews about it. I currently study languages (English and Spanish) @ University here where I live in Italy. I dream to become a teacher or something more impossible, like a writer. For the moment I only write stories on my laptop and review a lot of books. Speaking of which, I'm really into YA despite I am not a teenager anymore, and if you have suggestions, I am always open to hear your book advice! :D

9 thoughts on “What did you think of this season? – POLL

  1. Nichole says:

    I voted “I liked a few things while other sucked.” I voted that one because as a whole the season was divided up into different sections and tended to drag in some parts for me. For instance, the Paris episodes felt very different from the rest of the season. There was a disconnect. The middle part of the season with the tandem storylines of Chuck and Blair’s war and Juliet’s revenge seemed to come out of nowhere, but those episodes were good in the classical Gossip Girl sense, however, many of those episodes dragged. Moreover, those episodes did try to utilize the whole cast, which is why I liked GG in the first place. I like when the characters are an ensemble.

    Then the season veered off course with the Dan/Blair stuff which I didn’t particularly like nor did I like Serena/Ben or the Bass/Thorpe war so I was more prone to less actively watch those episodes. Again, I didn’t like the middle part of the season because the cast was segregated from each other. At times I didn’t even think I was watching Gossip Girl. That dynamic was not there and Gossip Girl herself took a vacay.

    Now the last part of the season was a little better and I can’t really complain. It wrapped up dull storylines. Opened up future storylines, but I was so confused by at least 3 of the last 5 episodes, “The Wrong Goodbye” is no exception. But it is what it is.

    Will I tune into Season 5? Yes, I think I will, but I am not so anxious for the start of a new season like I have been in previous years. I think this of a will be the last season despite the actors having one year left on their contracts. So, we will see what happens this fall. I think the Finale confused me too much to even care at this point. I really hope that feeling changes. (I really don’t think it will, though. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ )

  2. dita says:

    I love the whole Chair scenes, which is many I may say. And I feel like… nostalgia. Forever my love for Constance and St. Jude’s.

  3. Greta says:

    I don’t really like it season 4.It was so boring and confusing. Dan and Blair?? I like when they are enemies not friends and I really miss lovely CHAIR momments..Finale was good,but I don’t know.Blair marry Prince? I hate it. All her stories about fairytales..It seems like she is little girl. And all those spoilers about Dair in season 5..WHY WRITORS DO THIS TO US? Can they just give us our Chuck and Blair??

    • `toomuchpurple says:

      Spoilers about Dair in S5? Haven’t heard any. As far as I know, they maybe watching movies on the phone, but it’s too early to have spoilers regarding what’s *their* future as a ship.

      • Chair fan says:

        toomuchpurple, I totally share your hopes!!! do you think we’re gonna have a Chair baby??? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • `toomuchpurple says:

        Maybe it’s too early to say, but I hope so. ๐Ÿ™‚ They wouldn’t have put that scene there for nothing, we just have to wait and see.

  4. Sophie says:

    There were some things which I appreciated from Season 4. All in all however, it is a close second to Season 3 as the official worst season off GG ever.
    Season 4 at the very least attempted to revive the show, albeit with a sense of desperation. It seems like, since S3, GG writers had been firing arrows at random, trying to see which storyline the fans would like. Nevermind if the story does not fit at all in the GG mythology. In the end, the magic we loved so much was finished after Constance.

    Some redeeming arcs:
    1. Paris. Chuck Bass coming back from the dead. Blair in Paris. Introduction of Louis’ character. (I think the Louis story was kept open by producers but it was never meant to play out. It just so happened that that arc was open when the whole royal wedding mania erupted. How convenient, producers.)

    2. The Juliet/Ben arc. At least to me, it looked like the arc was thoughtfully planned and executed. Juliet and Ben had believable motivations. Colin’s character is pointless, though. He contributed nothing to the show.

    3. DAIR. Like most arcs, the producers are probably still clueless how to fit DAIR in S5. I think DAIR was the producers’ happy accident. I don’t think a romantic relationship was originally intended until fans started loving it.

    4. Prince Louis’ return. I appreciate that the seed of his return was planted in the beginning. BUT his return (and arc) was SO poorly written. There was no preparation by the writers, no build up, no believable motivations on his part.

    5. Jack Bass’ return. ’nuff said.

    WORST Season 4 arcs:
    1. Raina/Russell. The arc (and the 2 characters) was boring at best. It bordered on annoying. It rivaled the Chuck’s Mom arc in S3 as the most pathetic attempt by producers of a story.
    They were introduced with the premise that Bass Industries was in dire financial trouble. So dire indeed that the whole corporation had to sold! But really, whatever happened to this premise? This wasn’t ever resolved.

    2. Nate/Raina? This is insulting. I would sooner want to see Cyrus/Bird. This was a pairing for the sake of a pairing.

    3. Colin. See above.

    4. College, or the lack thereof. I think part of the magic of Seasons 1 and 2 was Constance – a prestigious prep school. It provided a backdrop for the power struggle, the prestige, the justification for “elite.”
    Had the producers not committed the irreversible mistake of putting Blair in NYU and making Serena an out-of-school youth in Season 3 and had just put them in an Ivy League School – Columbia – right away after college, the show would have thrived, not just survived.

    5. Blair’s attempt at working. It was depressing, not owe-inspiring. She wanted power, and so off she goes to intern at a magazine? The one good thing is that it built DAIR. Nevermind that she never got the power she wanted.

    6. Blair’s pregnancy. The producers took a page from your daily soap and decided on a baby as their way of sealing endgame!
    Some people might find it cute. I find it distasteful.
    Blair, whose love for power we have held in respect and awe since Season 1 will seal her fate as a mom at 21? Keep in mind that she has no university degree yet, no visible career path, no corporation to run. Where, pray tell, will she get her longed-for power?

    I really hope the writers and producers rally this show in Season 5.

    • `toomuchpurple says:

      I don’t know why they wanted to try the card of pregnancy to be honest. Blair said she wanted to be a powerful woman, build a career so that when she’ll be with a powerful man in regard of business (Chuck) or that has a certain influence because of a title (Louis) she will be able to stand by herself because she would have made a name for herself without the help of anyone who was already powerful.

      She broke up with Chuck to do that then, and it was right she did it. But what did she do next? Louis came to NYC and she didn’t hesitate to date him again and accept his proposal destroying what she was starting to build when she had the internship, that I agree was lame. When and if Blair will marry Louis, she’ll have a title. Now I don’t know if they plan to make her mature a career during S5, but that seems a contradiction, you know.

      Regarding the pregnancy I am not against it and I will be happy if it happens or not.

      What will matter the most to me, is if Blair will be happy (if) she is pregnant. Because if they show us she is and she wants this baby despite the fact that she’s young and it will totally crush her ambitions and dreams, I think we can just accept it because if it’s something that makes her happy, then be it. Everyone right now just wants her to be happy whatever will make her happy. Now seems like Louis is. If they show us Blair doesn’t like this thing… Since it’s fiction they can easily end it. It’s all about HOW the character will feel about it. That’s HER choice after all. I don’t think anyone can go against the way it will play out, either with a pregnancy, or no pregnancy. I just want Blair to do what she wants and feels like doing if the storyline happens, that’s all. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Cecla says:

      This is a Chair blog.. no mentioning of Dair please!! especially since you liked Dair, then you’re not a Chair fan to begin with!

Leave a Reply

