Long hot summer, no Gossip Girl Part 4 – Uninspired FF Writer Edition

Uninspired Fanfiction Writer proudly presents: LHS: TV shows and Music edition, yay!

I have finally reached my last portion (sort of) of this and I hope you enjoy it as much as I have enjoyed writing these 🙂 Now without further ado…

I wish I had a nicer intro but alas I seemed to have used it up on the post.

My list: (This one is NO particular order except for the last two which will make sense when you’ve reach them. Also the I hyperlinked the trailers to most of the TV shows)

#1 Pretty Little Liars *New Series* (Brought to you by: ABC Family, Tuesdays)

"Never Trust A Pretty Face With an Ugly Secret"

Plot: (This summary is brought to you by our dear friend: Mr. Wikipedia, Take it away wikipedia.)Season One: introduces a clique of five girls – Spencer Hastings, Hanna Marin, Aria Montgomery, Emily Fields, and Alison DiLaurentis. During a slumber party, Alison goes missing and is nowhere to be found. One year later her body is discovered in the backyard of the house she lived in, forcing the four surviving girls who had since grown apart, to reunite. Shortly before Alison’s body is found, the four girls begin to get messages from an anonymous “A”, who knows their deepest and darkest secrets that they thought only Alison knew. They continue to get the text messages even after the funeral.

Ok so there is more to this show, but that’s basically the pilot. It digs deep into the world of these five—well now four—girls. With only four, almost five episodes into this new series, it’s become amazingly addicting. This show reminds me a little of Gossip Girl, only there’s a murder involved (a real murder, I’d like to add. None of this ‘I think I kill someone’ crap).

It’s probably because this was brought to you by the producer of GG. No lie.

And if you’re the fan of the book series I hear you won’t be too disappointed. I have not read the series, but I plan to. If you have read this series or reading this series let me know how off base this is. Please and thank you.

The show a great guilty pleasure, with at times bad acting. But all in all we can forgive them and look past some of the awkwardness because honestly you’re hooked on to the teacher/student love affair, the former fat girl Queen B and her dysfunction life, the sexually confused girl (actually that might be a little on the boring side seriously), the witty aca-dork who manages to make her sister fiancé to fall for her.  BTW I heart Wren.*swoons*

I am happy to report that this show has also gotten pick up for a full season. A full two 22 episodes, in the words of TvRecappersAnonymous: Yipee! On the downside this will get split up so the summer will be airing the first half and the winter the other half. But the upside: During GG hiatus we’ll have something to watch.  Cool beans!

Be sure to check out TvRecappersAnonymous – Pretty Little Liars for the very funny and very detail summaries 😀

#2 Make It or Break It *Returning Show* (Brought to you by: ABC Family, Mondays)

Plot: (Ok so this might sound repetitive :D, bare with me readers) The show, set in the world of competitive gymnastics, follows a group of gymnasts training at the top-notch Rocky Mountain Gymnastic Training Center, known as The Rock. While their individual skills make each of the four girls serious contenders at the Olympics, the group is continuously fraught with internal conflict that threatens to distract them from their goal. With the help of their tough but compassionate coach, Sasha Belov, the gymnasts must overcome the drama and arguments to succeed.

I absolutely love this show; I can’t say that for too many shows (this is probably my top five). There is an intensity and passion that these girl show for the sport. I think the viewers get that from watching the first episode.

But this show is also drama, love triangles, and drive. It’s amazingly written, but something a bit too much (as for ALL ABC Family series). I love every character, but two.  I will reserve my thoughts on these characters because I will use up all my time talking about them and I will probably bore you because you may not know who any of these characters are.

And I let you in on a little secret dear readers, this show has made me cry. Twice.  Once during the first hiatus and the other was the season finale. It was that good. Shocking and all.

#3 True Blood *Returning Show* (Brought to you by: HBO, Sundays)

"Thou Shall Not Crave Thy Neighbour"

Plot: (Mouths: Sorry) Following the creation of synthetic blood, vampires have progressed from legendary monsters to fellow citizens overnight. Sookie Stackhouse (Anna Paquin) is a telepath and waitress at Merlotte’s in the small Louisiana town of Bon Temps, owned by Sam Merlotte (Sam Trammell), a shapeshifter—though this secret is kept hidden. One night, Sookie meets Bill Compton (Stephen Moyer), a handsome 173-year-old vampire who has returned to Bon Temps following the death of his last remaining relative. As she cannot hear his thoughts, she finds it easy to be in his company and, over the first season, the two become romantically involved.

I honestly don’t have one bad thing to say about this series, not one. Then again I love vampires and have been obsessed with them since I saw Interview the Vampire and probably BtVS. But the writing is amazing, the characters/actors do a terrific job, the plot is always superb. It’s a little (a lot) on the raunchy side so may not be suitable for kids (hehe shouldn’t be watching it if you’re really young anyways).

It’s all really funny beneath the dark theme and countless deaths. I love Andy and Jason, who are the funniest characters on this show and their bromance is awesome.

But out of everything on this show, my favorite being is Eric because Eric is more human than he gives himself credit for. I am hoping for Eric/Sookie, of course.

Funny fact on this show I didn’t start watching it until the 2nd season and then proceeded to the first season. Because my mind works in mysterious ways.

I could go on and on but I will move on from giving you a play-by-play on this show, but I’ll let you enjoy it 😀

Check out the Recap over at TvRecappersAnonymous – True Blood

#4 My Boys  (Bloopers) *Returning Show* (Brought to you by: TBS, Tuesdays)

"Sometimes the line between love and friendship is a little blurred."

Plot: PJ Franklin (Jordana Spiro) is a professional sportswriter looking for love within her world, which is dominated by her group of male friends. Her “boys” are her family, which sometimes hinders PJ’s dating life, as the men she tries to date don’t know how to react to her unconventional interests and the all-important men in her life. Her tomboyish, upfront approach to relationships tends to intimidate potential suitors, which leads her only female friend to advise her to dress and act more feminine. Being “one of the guys” can mean a lot of great things: poker games, pick-up softball games, watching sports or just hanging out at a favorite bar. But for PJ being a girl who’s one of the guys can be challenging.

This show is so weird because I thought it got the can last year or the year before and it didn’t. I can admit that this isn’t the best or the funniest show out there, but it is entertaining for the most part. Plus it it’s filmed in Chicago, yay. Chicagoans have a lot of pride in their city, as do most city do. We just tend to overdo it 🙂 And I’ll leave it at that.

I love the guys more than I love the main character. Mike, Kenny, Brando, and Andy are the reasons to watch this show. They are loud and stupid, but they are so funny and so out there.

Tune in for the dry humor.

# 5 Secret Life of the American Teenager *Returning Show* (Brought to you by: ABC Family, Mondays)

"Expect the unexpected

Plot: Season One primarily focuses on the effect of Amy Juergens having sex with Ricky Underwood at band camp. It explores how Amy’s pregnancy affects her, the baby’s father, her friends, and her family. The news of her pregnancy puts additional strain on her parents’ already rocky marriage, but brings Amy closer with her younger sister Ashley, her new boyfriend, Ben, the father of her baby, Ricky, as well as with other teens at Ulysses S. Grant High School in Valley Glen, California. Amy’s world expands as she learns that virtually every teen at Grant High carries a secret or unexpected problem.

In Season Two, Amy finds out that her mother is pregnant, and Ashley Juergens starts her freshman year at Grant High School. At the same time, her family and friends experience relationship challenges of their own. As the season progresses, Amy and Ricky struggle on who will get to care for John, and more drama unfolds with Ben, Amy, and Ricky.

Currently on Season Three: Problems Adrian is expecting Ben’s baby and Ben’s being a douche. Adran might get the abortion. Ricky and Ashley has a weird love connection (but get this she’s 15 and he’s 18 *sniff, sniff statutory rape *). Amy off in New York while her son is at home. And Grace is being a bitch. Did I mention they say ‘baby’ every two minutes?

If you can’t tell the last bit of summary was entirely my own 🙂

This is could possibly be the worst piece of crap in the face of the planet. I don’t know where to begin with this. Right now you’re probably asking: why would she put this on the list if she’s saying such awful things about it?

Answer: I actually watch this piece of crap.

By the time you start to watch it to the time you finish watching it, your mind has become so numb from this show stupidity that you will continue to watch because you can’t believe how bad it is. This show should coin the phrase: “It’s so bad it’s good” or “It’s like watching a train wreck over and over”.

I must have a lot of time on my hands (not really), but saying as I do watch and openly mock it I have been expose to all the stupid things that each character has to say. No, seriously I waste an hour of my day so I can mock it, I clearly have no life lol Each character is worse than the next. Want me to explain?

Ricky is the sort of reformed-but-not-really-bad-boy. There’s no character development and any attempt is shot in the face.  Amy is the I-should-have-kept-my-legs-closed-but-now-I-bitch-and-whine-every-chance-I-get girl.  Adrian is the disgrace-Latina-who-thinks-she’s-the-shit-because-she-slept-with-more-boys-and-takes-birthcontrol-and- super-smart. Grace is the good-Christian-girl-who-thought-she-killed-her-father-because-she-had-sex-once. Jack is the guys who shouldn’t be allow to speak. Ben is a really creepy boy who loves to love but hates to work at it. Ashley has one facial expression: mad or is it upset? And when she smiles I actually fear for my life. Oh did I mention that her monotone voice is so depressing I’m surprised she has killed herself yet.

One more thing they all have sidekicks, who may be the worst friends to possibly have on your side. Except for Alice and Henry.

I don’t recommend it AT ALL, but I do love to mock this show for all the stupidity it has been through since summer of 2008.

Geez, Secret Life… the millions of things wrong with that show alone could… I can’t even find a good comparison that’s how horrible it is. It’s like the worst interpretation of “American” high schoolers. Plus there’s the Latina on the show… I’m insulted by her portrayal of Latin women. The fact that it’s in 3rd season is a real joke. You know what’s funny? That’s not even half the reasons why this show is failure.

Sorry about that, I don’t even know what happened. It was like word vomited. I think I may have over done it.

# 6 Glee *Reruns ALL Summer, Shooting Season 2* (Brought to you by FOX, Tuesdays and Reruns Thursdays)

"A biting comedy for the underdog in all of us."

Plot: The series focuses on a high school show choir, also known as a glee club, in the fictional William McKinley High School in Lima, Ohio. Will Schuester (Matthew Morrison) takes over glee club after the former teacher (Stephen Tobolowsky) is fired for inappropriate contact with a male student. With a rag-tag group of misfit teenagers, Will attempts to restore the glee club to its former glory, while tending to his wife Terri (Jessalyn Gilsig), his developing feelings for his co-worker Emma (Jayma Mays), and defending glee club’s existence from the conniving cheerleading coach Sue Sylvester (Jane Lynch).

Oh to happier time… Another show on my favorite list, I love just about everything this show can offer. My favorites are (because there are so many of them): Puck, Artie, Rachel, Tina, Britney, Santana (sort of), Mike & Matt, and Sue.

I have to admit I was really reluctant to watch this show when it first aired back in May 2009 and then I really didn’t watch it until February of this year. But then I saw a clips on YT and I was hook. Yes, off of bits and parts on YT and Hulu.

Can you guess what was the first clip I saw from Glee? Or what got me to finally watch the show? Probably not, but I did hint at it when I did the first part of LHS. It was an interview with Mark Salling (Puck) and Lea Michele (Rachel) at HotTopic, and then quickly followed by “Sweet Caroline”, Puck’s song to Rachel. And that’s pretty much were everything started.

Now I know this show’s not going to touch these two as a pair anytime soon. And yes, they were only involved for like 3 episodes, but a girl can dream. Plus their ‘A pair of two good lookin’ Jews’.

It’s not the best written show out, but it is the most original thing that I have ever laid eyes on. And come on they’ve sung Journey and Queen, how kickass are these guys?

Anyways, I love the show for its songs and the characters and how every last one on them had their own personal character development. Plus come on if you didn’t cry when New Direction sung “To Sir, With Love” to Will I will seriously have to wonder where your heart is.

Recaps… Some recaps may be found on: TvRecappersAnonymous – Glee

#7 Parenthood *Summer Hiatus, Returning in the Fall* (Brought to you by: NBC, Tuesdays) BTW is Tuesday the only day that they show shows?

"Parenthood is..."

Plot: The show revolves around the Braverman family which has expanded to three generations, featuring the patriarch Zeek Braverman, and the matriarch Camille Braverman, their oldest son Adam and his wife, daughter and son, their daughter Sarah and her two kids, their second son Crosby, his ex-girlfriend Jasmine and their young son Jabbar, and finally their daughter Julia Braverman-Graham and her stay-at-home husband and young daughter.

I’m gonna be honest this was one of those show that I stopped watching because I simply forgot to watch. It has happened before and it’ll happen again. I need to be reminded of things; it comes with old age lol

But I’m gonna re-watch this series because it was funny and had a lot of heart. Plus Lauren Graham has been my favorite actress since Gilmore Girls. And she was brilliant in this series as well. Plus Dax Shepard is hilarious. So I’ll tune back in.

#8 Important Things with Demetri Martin *Upcoming Season 3 early 2011* (Brought to you by: Comedy Central, Wednesdays)

Plot: Important Things with Demetri Martin is a sketch-variety show on Comedy Central starring comedian Demetri Martin. Each episode examines a single theme, the “important thing”, such as timing, power, and coolness. All sketches, short vignettes, and stand-up comedy are loosely related to the theme of the episode.

I am a huge fan of Demetri Martin and his stand up comedy. When I found out he was going to have his own sketch comedy show, I was too happy about. I watch it and loved it. The show is funny with some dry humor to it. If you like standup comedy then you will love this, plus the guy is super brainy and quick on his feet.

There’s probably more, but I’m super out of it.

#9 Gilmore Girls *Series Ended* (Brought to you by: WB – Season 1-6; CW—Season 7)

"Lifes short. Talk Fast"

Plot: The show follows single mother Lorelai Victoria Gilmore (Graham) and her daughter Lorelai “Rory” Leigh Gilmore (Bledel) in the fictional town of Stars Hollow, Connecticut, a close-knit New England town (based on Washington Depot, Connecticut) with many quirky characters, located roughly thirty minutes from Hartford, Connecticut. The series explores family, friendship, generational divides, and social class. Gilmore Girls features frequent popular culture and political references and social commentary that manifest most clearly in Lorelai’s difficult relationship with her wealthy upper-class parents.

I think if any series needs to be praised, it’s this series right here.  It is one of the best written TV shows of all times (IMO). This quirky and upbeat show about a mother-daughter relationship still makes me wonder what happened to the network we use top call The WB, now The CW.

It’s not even that this is my favorite series of all time (because it is), it’s the pop culture references to the quick talking to the love triangles on this show. Because no one quite does love triangles like Gilmore Girls.  Plus the will-they-won’t-they couple: Lorelai and Luke, were one of the couples that made fans wondering for seasons to come. And for the record Logan is Tristan Dugray replica, they couldn’t get the original actor so they hired a look alike.

So it’s seven season long, there’s not going to be a new season coming up so you have plenty of time to tune and watch.

#10 Wildfire *Series Ended* (Brought to you by: ABC Family)

Plot: The show centers on the world of horse racing and a young girl named Kristine “Kris” Furillo who, after serving time in a juvenile detention facility, works as a stablehand and later a jockey at Raintree Farm. While at Raintree, Kris finds romance and competition with Raintree’s rivals, the prestigious Davis Farm, all while rising to stardom in the racing world.

So this was not the best show out there, but it’s a heck of a lot better than *coughSecretLifecough*.  Honestly, I didn’t care for the racing that much and the one thing I was looking forward to was a Mister Junior Davis and his on-off relationship with Kris. I do miss it from time to time and if you ever want to tune, I believe you catch the whole series on Hulu (don’t quote me).

Music: (I have hyperlinked the songs to YT)

1.       Fall Out Boy – “From Now On We Are Enemies”

2.       Paramore – Let the Flames Begin

3.       All Time Low – Stella

4.       Plastiscines – Bitch

5.       Meg and Dia – Hug Me

6.       The All-American Rejects – Stab My Back

7.       The Maine –Kiss and Sell

8.       Shakira – (Spanish version) Lo Hecho Esta Hecho or (English Version) Did it Again

– Honestly the Spanish version sounds a lot better the English version.

9.       Vanessa Carlton – Heroes and Thieves

10.    Glee Cast – To Sir, With Love

I have no comment on the music section because I’m rather tired and we’ll that’s my sad excuse. But enjoy and love to hear your thoughts on my rambles 😀 BTW it’s like 3 am and I’m still up… Why? No Clue

There might be a Part 5, but I don’t want people to throw tomatoes so I’m holding off on that until I can make up my mind on whether to post it.

About Uninspired Fanfiction Writer

I work. I write on the blog. I write fanfiction. Hanging out with mis friends/Family. I'm so weird.

8 thoughts on “Long hot summer, no Gossip Girl Part 4 – Uninspired FF Writer Edition

  1. Maedy says:

    hmm i think PLL is bit overrated now.. beside bad acting there. spencer, and that black girl i forgot her name.
    i think the only good acting there is hanna ( well not so good but it’s decent) and aria is okay.

    this kind of show can jump off the shark easily. just watch several ep and the plot is moving so quickly. 1 ep 1 books. so i wonder if they ran out of things to tell what will they tell us? another murder?

    • Well think about it like this the show is only during the summer/winter and soon it will leave our small screens.

      Your right about the plot moving quickly escpecially becasue this is a rookie show. Like take a breather relax and then move forward.

  2. I’ve watched most of the shows you listed (PLL, TB, Glee, Wildfire, ie or Gilmore Girls – I miss it, the end was really disappointed) .
    The only one you put in the list I hate with passion is Secret Life… The storylines are boring, they always have the word ‘sex’ in their mouth and can’t talk about other things. Plus, the creators are the ones of 7th Heaven (that instead, I liked) and they’re all about ‘no sex before marriage’ thing, we’re in 21th century, this thing is out-of-date. The main actress may be good, but she’s super annoying, I hate her too.

    • Gilmore Girls the last season was kind of bad. I was upset at mostly everyone and the only eppie I like was the last one.

      Secret Life, they added three more words to their vocabulary: Slut, Baby, and Birthcontrol

      I hate the show to lol it’s just godawful and I can’t believe I stuck on it for so long.

      7th Heaven was pretty good minus the whole good moral thing and the sex thing (Branda Hampton has to cool it with that). I hated that they all band together when Simon lost it, like chill.

  3. yasmine says:

    I watch/watched all of the shows you watch (pretty little liars, wildfire, glee, gilmore girls) and i especially love make it or break it 🙂 i was disappointed that u didn’t share your thoughts about the characters…i almost cried when damon sang his song and emily was too late (i ship them and i’m pretty sure he’s not comin back ;( ) i read all of the pll series except the last one and i’m glad i read them before the series aired! (but the plot is SORTA close)…

    i really like these posts though!

    • Sorry about that the Make It or Break It portion I was planning on making it longer but removed most of it when I was editing. (Mouths: Sorry)

      I ship E/D too! And yes that was one of the times I bawled my eyes out. I think he might come back for one more episode and that’s it, which bums me out.

      Ok so I’m on my way to reading the series (sort of) wish me luck 😀

  4. kjewls says:

    Excellent post, and GREAT show recommendations, M! After reading this, I am now ABSOLUTELY certain that we share a TV-watching brain! (Ex. Glee, True Blood, Pretty Little Liars, Gilmore Girls, Wildfire, and MY BOYS!)

    I was so excited to see My Boys on this list. You see, I really thought I was the only person on the planet who watched this show! And you are right, it’s the male ensemble cast that really keeps me coming back each week, more so than Jordana Spiro’s P.J. (although I like her too).

    My one beef with the show was that I really wanted P.J. and “Brendo” to get together! (Bobby is sweet and all, but he’s no Brendo.) It seemed like they were starting something with them around Second Season, when they shared that kiss, but then they just dropped it, and randomly put her back with Bobby. WHY?

    Thanks again for taking the time to post this fab list! I’ll definitely be checking in with you this summer to talk about My Boys and all of our other shared shows.

  5. Je t'adore says:

    M, I love you so much for introducing me to MIOBI, it’s awesome. But I’m sorry we don’t feel the same way about some characters. But I ship E and D too; he is so charming and hot.

    PLL didn’t convince me, but I’m still watching, maybe I’ll start to like it more. Glee, ugh, you know how I feel about it… no comment.

    The other shows, I have to check them out and I’ll let you know.

    Thanks for the music too, I have to check out the entire list.

    And you want to continue the series? So awesome. What do you want to write about?

Leave a Reply

