Long hot summer, no Gossip Girl Part 3 – Uninspired FF Writer Edition

I’m back with another installment of: Long hot summer, no Gossip Girl: Movie Edition brought to you by Uninspired Fanfiction Writer. Boo or Yay? Well at least I’m happy about it. I hope you are too. 😀

Now, I know we have a couple months before GG comes back. Plus shooting for the new season doesn’t begin until the end of this month, so while we wait for news for (any news, really) on GG be sure to catch some of these flicks.

Ok so here’s a small fact (other than my love of GG): I am a huge movie junkie, I actually don’t understand it. Maybe it has to do with a film class I took in junior year or maybe I’ve always loved movies. The good, the bad (believe me I’ve seen a lot of bad ones), and the ugly. Maybe its transitions or the special effects that really gets to me.

But anyways, I’ve compiled a list of movies/films that I think you should at least consider watching this summer (or sometime in the near future). Some of these are my personal favorites and others are just movies that I thought needed to be seen.

So, I may have used imdb.com for summaries for the movies. *ducks* and I’ve also hyperlink the movies respected trailers (links go directly to youtube), in case you are curious about any of the movies listed. Or if you get really bored from reading (I totally would not get offended if you do)

Movies: There is no particular order for this one because I couldn’t decided on one, again if I had to pick the order then this would be it.

#1 Alice in the Wonderland (2010)

Starring: Mia Wasikowska, Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter

Director: Tim Burton

Summary: 19-year-old Alice returns to the magical world from her childhood adventure, where she reunites with her old friends and learns of her true destiny: to end the Red Queen’s reign of terror.

This movie has two things: Tim Burton and Johnny Depp. I am a huge (emphasize on the huge) Johnny Depp fan and his crazy movies with or without Tim Burton (preferably with). This is one of the recent Depp/Burton movie, that I have fallen in love with.

Depp plays a psychotic Mad Hatter (which, come on the role was made for him).  Honestly, everyone in the cast did a fantastic job. When parts were made to be serious they were and the slightly depressing scenes were greatly handled. Helena B. Carter nearly stole the show with her interruption of the Queen of Hearts (Red Queen). Anne Hathaway actually surprised me because she was so light and airy (and funny as hell, I might add). This was such a great cast with a great ‘what would happen’ story line.

Did I mention that I hate cats? No really they creep me out Lol No, I haven’t but after seeing the Cherisher Cat, I want to go out and buy one like him. So precious…

#2 Avatar (2009)

Starring: Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana, Sigourney Weaver

Director: James Cameron

Summary: A paraplegic marine (Jake Sully) dispatched to the moon Pandora on a unique mission becomes torn between following his orders and protecting the world he feels is his home.

If you haven’t seen this movie, then you are probably should. Again if you haven’t seen it… where have you been? At least seen it once, that’s all I ask. People can say what they want about James Cameron and his oversized ego, but the guy is a genius.  Point freakin’ blank.

I have to admit in the beginning I didn’t understand the hype of Avatar, actually I didn’t want to watch the movie. But after seeing it (surprising I saw it the Saturday it came out), I was amazed at by it. The special effects, the cast, the 3D effects, transitions, the language that these actors had to learn. It was everything that the movie had to offer.

I must admit if they had to give this movie one particular award it would be the cheesy dialogue ever. Still it was worth every penny and I have seen the movie at least a couple of time (the movie was like 4 years long lol) Anyways Watch AVATAR!

# 3 She’s the Man (2006)

Starring: Amanda Bynes, Channing Tatum, Laura Ramsey

Director: Andy Fickman

Summary: When her brother decides to ditch for a couple weeks in London, Viola heads over to his elite boarding school, disguises herself as him, and proceeds to fall for one of her soccer teammates. Little does she realize she’s not the only one with romantic troubles, as she, as he, gets in the middle of a series of intermingled love affairs.

I think out of every movie that I have seen with a William Shakespeare vibe to it, this one the one with the most heart. It was light and funny. Amanda Bynes—whom I use to hate before this movie, and is now my favorite actress—is funny without being to over the top.

What I love about this movie is the multiple storylines that are involve in this one movie alone. The thing that makes this movie unique even with all the SL everything is connected, everything they show has a purpose and even the tiny things make sense. And by this time if you haven’t realized this I tend to overanalyze things. I even wrote a paper for this movie *nods* I’m proud to say I did fairly well on it too. But this movie has comedy, drama, love squares/pentagons, and if you squint soccer.

In all seriousness this is my favorite (or at least one of my favorite movies) of all time.

#4 Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion (1997)

Starring: Mira Sorvino, Lisa Kudrow, Janeane Garofalo

Director: David Mirkin

Summary: Two women get into a lot of trouble when they go to their high school reunion and lie about their lives after twelfth grade.

I have to admit there is something about this movie that I personally love.  I remember when this movie came out I was like 7 or 8 (yes, I’m that old), and for some strange reason this became my favorite movie for several years to come.

The plot is a dumb and if you watch the movie, you’ll probably blame me for watching it and then wondering why I recommend it. The thing with any comedy movie you have kind of just go with it. That sounds really stupid, but you just have to trust me on this.

Romy and Michelle are two friends who are really just there for each other, that’s the real meaning of this movie. That despite all their flaws and lies they will always have each other’s back. So if you’re going to take anything from this movie is this: Guys are great and all, but best friend last a lifetime.

PS: I loved the flashback and the jokes. It’s a very funny movie for what’s it worth. I’m big on flashbacks 🙂

#5 Modern Times (1936)

Starring: Charles Chaplin, Paulette Goddard, Henry Bergman

Director: Charles Chaplin

Summary: The Tramp struggles to live in modern industrial society with the help of a young homeless woman.

Ok… Have you seen the year this movie was made? *nods*

Are you wondering why I have a film from the 1930s? *nod again*

Is this a silent film?  *nods for the last time*

I just want to start off by saying Charlie Chaplin is a genius. One of the greatest entertainers who ever lived; nobody could ever come close. (I’m looking at you James Cameron). What this guy did without ever saying two words in and the influence he had. He acted like the average working man who doesnn’t always get the happy ending. And he was hilarious with a few simple jabs in the face (quite literally actually).

Out of every movie he’s done, this one next to Dictator (1940), is my favorite. He goes through so much in this film, so many ups and downs—literally crap. But he doesn’t give up and always manages to continue on with life. I think that’s what Chaplin does. He tries to get people to see the bigger picture.

PS: Him and P. Goddard had amazing chemistry on and off scene, so much so that they got married in real life or so they say. She was set to a famous roll: A certain Ms. Scarlet O’Hara in a little film called “Gone with the Wind (1939), but due to illegitimate marriage document she was asked to step down and hand over the role of a lifetime over.

P.P.S. This was the first time that Charlie Chaplin spoke in a film (ok so he sang multiple languages, still counts).

#6 Up! (2009)

Starring: (voice of) Edward Asner, Christopher Plummer, Jordan Nagai

Director: Pete Docter and Bob Peterson (as co-director)

Summary:  By tying thousands of balloon to his home, 78-year-old Carl Fredricksen sets out to fulfill his lifelong dream to see the wilds of South America. Right after lifting off, however, he learns he isn’t alone on his journey, since Russell, a wilderness explorer 70 years his junior, has inadvertently become a stowaway on the trip.

Any movie whether it’s animated or not that has the ability to have me in tears with the first 10 minutes is amazing in my book. Seriously, you quickly become invested in the characters and what they do and say. This movie is light-hearted, but at the same time fairly depressing. It makes you wonder if little kids will actually understand the purpose of the beginning and the end.

I loved Carl, despite being you know grumpy and miserable. And Russell is so precious. The two of them are unlikely friends who need and depend on each other. KEVIN! (You’ll watch the movie that if you want to understand it)  And Doug! Watch the movie with your little sibling or cousin, so you won’t feel so weird if that is the case. 😀

#7 Superbad (2007)

Starring: Jonah Hill, Michael Cera, Christopher Mintz-Plasse

Director: Greg Mottola

Summary: Two co-dependent high school seniors are forced to deal with separation anxiety after their plan to stage a booze-soaked party goes awry.

I am a HUGE Judd Apatow n Co fan and Michael Cera fan. So put the two and two together and you get a movie about a high school party and beer. And let me tell you it was awesome.

Everything about this movie in your face and brash. The jokes were as ranchy as the 40-Year-Old Virgin and Knock-Up. I loved this movie because it’s comedy and I’m big on comedy (if you haven’t noticed).

I think that the world needs to laugh a little. Loosen up a bit.

#8 Public Enemies (2009)

Starring: Johnny Depp, Christian Bale, Marion Cotillard

Director: Michael Mann

Summary: The Feds try to take down notorious American gangsters John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson and Pretty Boy Floyd during a booming crime wave in the 1930s.

Johnny Depp without Tim Burton *le gasp*

Incredible biopic on Chicago’s original gangster, John Dillinger. Johnny Depp really out did himself on this role. I mean he wasn’t playing an odd character (sort of) or dressing up (well maybe) in weird costumes. Any scene that he was in, he was fully committed. Plus, we got to see gangster Johnny Depp again, and well that we haven’t seen since that since Donnie Brasco (1997) or Blow (2001). I personally miss it.  Marion Cotillard as Billie was also remarkable. She was meek and modest. I wished they they could have shown more of her because her scenes were… wow. Especially the last one.

This is one of those films were you know what’s going to happen, but you still root for the main character to miraculously be ok at the end. This is the story is about an anti-hero, who probably should have been think a little further than tomorrow.

#9 The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

Starring: (voices of) Chris Sarandon, Catherine O’Hara, William Hickey

Director: Henry Selick

Summary: Jack Skellington, king of Halloweentown, discovers Christmas Town, but doesn’t quite understand the concept.

Fact: I grew up with this movie.

A Tim Burton movie again without Johnny Depp? *ducks*

I admire Tim Burton, really I do. Any movie that he does ends up being so weird. You can’t understand why you want to know more about each character what makes them special. Like Jack Skellington or Sally.

I didn’t understand Jack and Sally relationship, when I saw this movie way back when.  I mean she sewn together by an evil genius and he was made of bones. Yeah, the concept was more or less lost to me.

But the more I got to thinking about their peculiar relationship, the more I realized that it starts off as friends, then the trust, then love.  It was the love between two very different creations to show us no matter who you are or where you came from you’ll always find your better half.

Ok, pulling back from that I have to say it was a great movie with catchy numbers (it had singing). The characters were out there and the villain still scares the sh*t out of me.

#10 Zombieland (2009)

Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Woody Harrelson, Emma Stone, Abigail Breslin

Director: Ruben Fleischer

Summary: The horror comedy Zombieland focuses on two men who have found a way to survive a world overrun by zombies. Columbus is a big wuss — but when you’re afraid of being eaten by zombies, fear can keep you alive. Tallahassee is an AK-toting, zombie-slaying’ bad ass whose single determination is to get the last Twinkie on earth. As they join forces with Wichita and Little Rock, who have also found unique ways to survive the zombie mayhem, they will have to determine which is worse: relying on each other or succumbing to the zombies.

I just have one thing to say about Zombieland: I think this movie is funnier and slightly better than The Hangover (2009), there I said it! Please don’t hate me 😦

It surprised me of how much I loved this movie. Ok in the beginning I was like nope Jesse Eisenberg looks like Michael Cera, they should have just hired him instead. But then the movie progressed and I actually like Jesse. Seriously the only difference between Jesse and Michael are their names; they can play fraternal twins or something and I’d totally believe it. Evan how they act of screen is scary alike.

Screw Dakota Fanning, Abigail Breslin could seriously kick her a**. Yes, I said it. Plus she has Woody Harrelson and Emma Stone on her side. She’d win hands down.

ZL: funny, smart, scary, and Bill Murray.

So this took a while longer than I expected (Life was not being very kind to me). Again these are just something you can watch over the long break. Enjoy 😀 Oh Serena AU post is coming up it shouldn’t take me too long (there’s hardly anybody left lol).

Be sure to check out: Je t’adore (Part 1) and my earlier list Part 1 and Part 2

About Uninspired Fanfiction Writer

I work. I write on the blog. I write fanfiction. Hanging out with mis friends/Family. I'm so weird.

9 thoughts on “Long hot summer, no Gossip Girl Part 3 – Uninspired FF Writer Edition

  1. Maedy says:

    haven’t u heard?? amanda bynes is quiting acting!
    hmm.. who quited acting when they are 24?
    it’s unreasonable.
    i like she’s the man. it’s a shame that she quited acting.

    and i don’t like avatar either.
    it’s disgrace to human being. i don’t like sam worthington.

    and i love superbad! michael cera is such a geek..
    i think you should see prince of persia!
    it’s totally worthy summer movie.
    oh and don’t watch the A team. that movie is horrible.

    • What?!?! She can’t *sad face* I think she’s should take a break and then come back, but to take a break all together is just wrong lol

      Prince of Persia, you say… I was thinking of checking it out (eventually).

      Even with Bradley Cooper, A Team sucked?

      • Maedy says:

        ah team A sucked so bad. i was so sleepy for the last 30 minutes. the action is okay but the sl is just big NO NO.
        prince of persia is extremely good. i kind of underestimate it at first because it’s from video game.

        http://bit.ly/b0s5Oy
        this the link of amanda quited acting.
        i think she quited because her movie is not succesfull as it used to be.

  2. mizz says:

    great post 🙂

    You know I’ve been thinking (and missing) about gossip girl and came up with a theory.

    Don’t you think it’s a tad…strange how there are 2 new love interests to be cast in season 4? 1 for Chuck (Eva) and 1 for Nate?
    Would they really cast 2 new girls in the same season?
    UNLESS ITS THE SAME GIRL.
    think about it. a love triangle. Chuck Eva Nate.

    Although I HIGHLY DOUBT this is true, it just wouldn’t leave my head.

  3. Jaime says:

    I love Zombieland!
    I was thinking along the same lines with Eva and Nate’s new girl being the same person. But my thought was more along the lines of Eva going to New York with Chuck, while there she starts to see more of his personality (and his connection to Blair) and ends it ammicably. But stays because her and Nate have hit it off etc etc.

  4. LOL, you made a list of a lot of movies I’d like to watch when I finish my exams.
    But Avatar… IDK, I don’t feel like watching it tbh XD
    I should find italian titles of some of them 😀

  5. Je t'adore says:

    ok, I’ll comment on all of them because I love movies. I’m like a movie freak, I’d watch movies 24/7 if I had time.

    Alice – I was so disappointed when I saw it because the trailers released before the movie came out, gave out A LOT and I wasn’t surprised by anything. Boo, major fail! And I’m a huge JD and Tim B. fan too. btw, have you seen Sweeney Todd? If you haven’t, go and rent it, it’s awesome.

    Avatar – haven’t watched it but I will. Not because I think it’s a good movie but because I can’t say I hate it if I haven’t seen it. But I’m 99% sure I will hate it. 😦

    She’s the man – haven’t seen it either. Something about it kept me away but I’ll check it out. I have nothing to lose. I don’t mind Amanda but I’m not a big fan. But I’m sorry she is quitting acting, she was decent in Hairspray.

    Romy and Michele – I love that movie. I’ve seen it when I was younger but I think I’ll re-watch it cause I don’t remember much of it.

    Modern Times – Awesome! I love CC, I love all his movies. The Great Dictator is one of my favs. Did you see it?

    UP! – I couldn’t wait to see this animated movie but after 30 min I gave up. It bored me to death. Maybe I’ll try to see it again this summer.

    Superbad – awesome movie. I recommend it to everyone that likes quality comedies.

    Public Enemies – haven’t seen it because a friend of mine said it’s really boring. But I’ll check it out.

    The Nightmare Before Christmas – this is one of my fav. animated movies of all times. It’s amazing.

    Zombieland – so funny, I love it.

Leave a Reply

