Long hot summer, no Gossip Girl Part 2 – Uninspired FF Writer Edition

There are a couple of things that you have to know about me when it comes to books.

One, I am extremely picky when it comes to what I read. If I don’t like the story within the few pages then there’s no way I’m getting pass the rest of the book. I have made exception but honestly I get sidetrack easily. Vampire Kisses is proof of that. And the Grand Tour.

Two, I stumble on to book series by accident. This just means, I don’t realize that the first book has a companion (or several) until the last chapter (I’ve done this at least six or seven times). Which totally sucks for me because then I have go back to Borders and buy the whole series. Boo.

Three: I love to read. Nuff said. I this all because due to a certain series that I started to read in the 4th grade, I have loved reading since then.

Who used Wikipedia for the summary? *Raises hand* I’m terrible at summaries (yes, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it) or at least I tried to use Wikipedia… but Barnes and Noble had better summaries.

Books:

#1 Sweep series (in States) / Wiccan series (in UK, Belgium, the Netherlands and Australia) / White Magic (in Italy and France) by Cate Tiernan (15)

Summary: The heroine, Morgan Rowlands, discovers that she is a “blood witch” and learns that she must battle dark magick. As the series progresses, Morgan comes into contact with not only a truly remarkable set of characters but many problems that teens face today. (Please refer to: Sweep Wikipedia for individual book summary to the series)

Title of the Books: Book of Shadows, The Coven, Blood Witch, Dark Magick, Awakening, Spellbound, The Calling, Changeling, Strife, Seeker, Origins, Eclipse, Reckoning, Full Circle, and Night’s Child/ Super Edition

This series is also told in Morgan Rowland POV (From Book of Shadows [1] to Strife [9], 3 chapters of Origins [11], part of Eclipse [12], Reckoning [13], and part of Night Child [15]); Hunter Niall (Seeker [10] and part of Full Circle [14]); and Alisa Soto (part of Eclipse [12] and Reconking [13]); and Rose MacEwan (Origins [11]) Hopefully some of that made sense.

I going to be bluntly honest people, this summary is awful. So here’s the gist: it starts off with an ordinary 16-year-old, Morgan, who discovers that she part of extraordinary clan of witches. She learns about the beauty (and darkness) and power that comes from Wicca while also dealing with the fact that her family is Catholic. She learns the true meaning of love and friendship. And despite all the crap that she will have to endure in the series she’s able to face it head on. Come on Wiki, that summary sucked.

Ok now that you got the background here’s the thing with each of these book. They are no more than 200 pages (each book minus the last one) so this series is pretty easy to get by. My only but about this series is if your overly sensitive to the topic of religion then this may not be the series for you. Or if you’re superstitious. I read the series (a couple of times) it is my favorite series of all time (against HP and Twilight).  I strongly recommend that you give it a chance.

I think of it as a coming of age story and I can relate to main character, who is a bit self-conscious in the beginning and then becomes a force to reckon with (well maybe not that part). But it’s about finding yourself and the decision you make the consequence behind them. By the way this is a series I found by accident (well technically my friend did back when I was in 8th grade)

#2 Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling (7)

Summary: The books chronicle the adventures of the adolescent wizard Harry Potter and his best friends Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, all of whom are students at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The main story arc concerns Harry’s quandary involving the evil wizard Lord Voldemort, who killed Harry’s parents in his quest to conquer the wizarding world and subjugate non-magical people (Muggles).

Title of the Books: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince; and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

It’s never too late to become a Harry Potter fan (I have proof lol). But on serious note, this series is beautifully written and very descriptive. J.K. Rowling deserves a Nobel Prize or something. This was the series that got me to love reading.

I want to say that the films almost don’t do the book series justice but that’s entirely not true. The only movies that I didn’t like were the Prison of Azkaban (it was way off base) and Goblet of Fire (move too quickly) BUT this was the movie franchise and I’m talking about the book series. Harry Potter rock when I was in 4th grade and it still does 10 + years later. I know they’re a bit lengthen-y but totally worth reading.

#3 Wallflower Series by Lisa Klepas (5)

Summary: (Not from Wikipedia) It revolves around four “wallflowers” that have to find a husband before their season is over with. Ironically, each four girl’s books have an actual season in the title of each individual book (except the last one).

Title of the Books: Secrets of a Summer Night, It Happened One Autumn, Devil in Winter, Scandal in Spring, and A Wallflower Christmas

Summer:  Secrets Of A Summer Night is the first novel in my Wallflower series, about four young ladies who enter London society with one common goal: they must use their feminine wit and wiles to find a husband.

Autumn: It Happened One Autumn is the story of Lillian Bowman, a bold and headstrong American heiress, and Marcus, Lord Westcliff, the most eligible peer in England. But even though Lillian is hunting for a husband, Marcus is the last man she would ever consider marrying.

Winter: Devil in Winter: Easily the shyest Wallflower, Evangeline Jenner stands to become the wealthiest, once her inheritance comes due. Because she must first escape the clutches of her unscrupulous relatives, Evie has approached the rake Viscount St. Vincent with a most outrageous proposition: marriage!

Spring: Scandal in Spring: After spending three London seasons searching for a husband, Daisy Bowman’s father has told her in no uncertain terms that she must find a husband. Now. And if Daisy can’t snare an appropriate suitor, she will marry the man he chooses—the ruthless and aloof Matthew Swift.

Seasonal: A Wallflower Christmas: Wealthy entrepreneur Rafe Bowman has come to London to marry Lady Natalie, an aristocratic bride who will help to further his ambitions. But two things stand in his way : Lady Natalie’s disapproving companion Hannah . . . and Rafe’s passion for a woman he should not want and can never have . . .

Source

*Blushes* Ok, I’m not entirely a prude (as clearly seen on the fanfic that I have read), but I do get embarrassed a lot. This is a historical romance series filled with lots of smut (the middle to the ending).  You’ve been warn lol. I actually found Secret of a Summer Night in the library for sale (fairly cheap too.) I got curious and started to read and walk right out of the library with the book in my hands (I totally space and forgot to pay for it, I felt so horrible about it). I almost went back if my nose wasn’t so attached to the book. The book was that good (it caused me to steal it). I mean the book was being sold for $3. See what the power of a good story can do?

#4 Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray (3)

Summary: The story revolves around Gemma Doyle, a young woman sent from her home in British India to the mysterious boarding school, Spence Academy. There she meets Ann, Felicity, and Pippa, three other remarkable young women and together they discover the dark past of their school. Gemma learns of her own heritage and the magical powers she possesses. The three books in the trilogy span just one year, with A Great and Terrible Beauty beginning in June 1895 and The Sweet Far Thing ending in June 1896.

Title of the Books: A Great and Terrible Beauty, Rebel Angels, and The Sweet Far Thing.

AGTB: Gemma leaves her home in India to go to a boarding school in England after her mother dies. Once there, she is plagued by clairvoyant visions as she looks into the magical secrets of the school with her three friends Felicity Worthington, Pippa Cross and Ann Bradshaw.

RAs: The novel follows Gemma and her friends, Felicity and Ann, during their winter break from school.

TSFT: It has been a year of change since Gemma Doyle arrived at the foreboding Spence Academy. Her mother murdered, her father a laudanum addict, Gemma has relied on an unsuspected strength and has discovered an ability to travel to an enchanted world called the Realms, where dark magic runs wild. Despite certain peril, Gemma has bound the magic to herself and forged unlikely new alliances. Now, as Gemma approaches her London debut, the time has come to test these bonds. The Order—the mysterious group her mother was once part of—is grappling for control of the Realms, as is the Rakshana. Spence’s burned East Wing is being rebuilt, but why now? Gemma and her friends see Pippa, but she is not the same. And their friendship faces its gravest trial as Gemma must decide once and for all what role she is meant for.

When I first read this story, I didn’t actually like it. But the summary looked interesting and I gave the book a sporting chance. Another one I found on accident during my one of my literature classes. I think the first book does a great job of setting up the ground work for the next two books. The series is fairly dark and mysterious.  It does have it lighter moments, but they are surround by the overall theme which is darkness that surround each character. The ending is worth reading this book alone.

#5 Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares (4)

Summary: The series begins with the four girls’ in their sophomore year in high school, and follows them through four summers, finally ending with the summer following their freshman year of college. During this time the girls develop in various ways, but their ultimate goal is to learn to become individuals whilst maintaining their childhood friendship that makes them whole.

Titles of Books: The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, The Second Summer of the Sisterhood, Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood; and Forever in Blue: The Fourth Summer of the Sisterhood

In the beginning I refused to read this series mainly because I thought the idea that 4 girl could share one pair of pants was kind of dumb. The summary alone made me roll my eyes. But I couldn’t be more wrong. I got really curious (or bored) one day in my lit class and I read the book. I have to admit I love each individual story. My favorites were Tibby and Lena. I love that every chapter begins with a quotes. This story was better than I give it credit for. The movies don’t follow too closely and definitely don’t do some on the romance in the books justices.

#6 Secret Circle trilogy by L.J. Smith (3)

Summary: (The Initiation and The Captive [Part 1]): The circle’s power has lured her home… Forced to move from sunny California to gloomy New England, Cassie longs for her old life. Even so, she feels a strange kinship to a terrifying group of teens who seem to rule her school. Initiated into the coven of witches that’s controlled New Salem for hundreds of years, she’s drawn into the Secret Circle, a thrill that’s both intoxicating and deadly. But when she falls for the mysterious and intriguing Adam, Cassie must choose whether to resist temptation or risk dark forces to get what she wants—even if it means that one wrong move could ultimately destroy her

(The Captive [Part 2] and The Power):

Caught in the struggle between good and evil…Cassie has joined the most alluring—and deadly—in-crowd imaginable. But power comes with a price, and it’s more dangerous than she knows. Torn between the dueling desires of the two leaders of the Secret Circle, she must ultimately choose between saving all of the New Salem, and her own dangerous love for bewitching Adam, which threatens to tear the circle apart. In the ultimate battle between good and evil, will Cassie’s supernatural powers be strong enough to lead the coven out of danger? Or will she fall prey to the dark forces within?

…WILL SHE SACRIFICE HER LOVE FOR THE CIRCLE TO SURVIVE?

Source & Source

For some strange reason the newer versions of L.J.  Smith’s works are cut up in parts. It’s not the worst thing in the world, plus it clues you in to the next part is but leaves a big cliffhanger which sucks.  I loved the trilogy. There’s a few things that I would rearrange *coughAdam&Cassiecough* but I loved how the main character never gives up and yes she stronger than she gives herself credit for. And even though Nick doesn’t get nearly enough line in the stories, he’s still my hero. This is one of those series that have way to much character and guess what I love that it does. Every single one of them have there for a reason to in the story. I wish someone would make either a show or a movie (that doesn’t suck). Amazing story, ‘nuff said.

#7 The Host by Stephanie Meyer (1)

Summary: Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind. As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love. Featuring one of the most unusual love triangles in literature, THE HOST is a riveting and unforgettable novel about the persistence of love and the essence of what it means to be human.

*Smile sheepishly* I was really hoping not to use any of Stephanie Meyer’s works. It’s not that I don’t like her or her style of writing (I’m a fan of her, really). There’s a particular fanbase that has me quite peeved. BUT this is not going in that direction because I don’t want to piss off a fandom that I use to be a part back in 2007 and part of 2008 (WAY before the movie, I’d like to add)

But enough of that… The Host is literally beyond words. In the beginning it starts off really slow and you kind of want to stop reading it, but it picks up really fast and then you can’t stop. What is so interesting about this story is the perspective it told in. The way that Wanderer or Wanda sees things through another set of eyes is remarkable. I mean SM is on another level when it comes to writing this story. I actually forgot she wrote Twilight for a good couple of days. That’s how good this book is.

#8 Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause (1)

Summary: Vivian Gandillon relishes the change, the sweet, fierce ache that carries her from girl to wolf. At sixteen, she is beautiful and strong, and all the young wolves are on her tail. But Vivian still grieves for her dead father; her pack remains leaderless and in disarray, and she feels lost in the suburbs of Maryland. She longs for a normal life. But what is normal for a werewolf? Then Vivian falls in love with a human, a meat-boy. Aiden is kind and gentle, a welcome relief from the squabbling pack.

He’s fascinated by magic, and Vivian longs to reveal herself to him. Surely he would understand her and delight in the wonder of her dual nature, not fear her as an ordinary human would. Vivian’s divided loyalties are strained further when a brutal murder threatens to expose the pack. Moving between two worlds, she does not seem to belong in either. What is she really—human or beast? Which tastes sweeter—blood or chocolate?

If you have seen the movie-adaptation of this book ignores it. Forget the movie because truthfully that movie sucks and the book is amazing (there I go again). There is so much more to this book and by the end of it you’ll probably want to kill the meat-boy. The story bigger theme is sticking you and your own. That family will always be on your side no matter what and no one can understand you better even if they tried. Point is, Vivian is proud of being a werewolf, she want share it with someone who was special and well read the story. Oh Gabriel rocks!

#9 The Blue Is for Nightmares Series by Laurie Faria Stolarz (5)

Summary: The engaging heroine of this remarkable series is Stacey Brown. A typical teenager, Stacey has the usual worries, like getting good grades and falling in love. But she is also a hereditary witch who is blessed-or cursed-with a gift for prophetic dreams. When danger strikes, Stacey depends on folk magic, good friends, and her wits to escape the peril foretold in her nightmares.

Titles for Books: Blue is for Nightmare, White Is for Magic, Silver Is for Secrets, and Red is for Remembrance, and Black Is for Beginnings

Ok this is last series on this list, I swear. My best friend told me to read this book series (no, really she sat me down and said, “You have to read this book. Dude it’s so good.” She was actually was really persistence about it). Plus this was one times that someone was recommended me to read something (normally it’s the other way around).

These books are a little weird, for the most. Sometimes, I think you just have to go with the flow and not question everything because everything eventual gets explained. It’s a little dark and sort of creepy. Death is usually lurking at every corner, and there are some really disturbing characters. It’s not my favorite series of all time but it is pretty good for the most part.

Note: I haven’t actually read the last one because up until a couple of hours ago I didn’t even know it existed. It’s also not in the same format as the others. It’s a graphic novel; I normally don’t read graphic novels so I might not tune in. But if anyone else is would like to read this series, then take a stab at the last book and tell me is it worth reading. Please and thank you 😀

#10 The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (1)

Summary: The Perks of Being a Wallflower was a great book. It’s about a boy named Charlie living in the 90’s. It’s about his everyday life and what he goes through. It’s in the format of a letter that he writes to a ‘friend’ but you never know who the friend is. The book is realistic and could be good for basically anyone who wants to. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an easy, quick read. (Comes from a Barnes and Noble’s review)

Talk about realistic. I recommend this book to anyone with a pulse. It was so funny and touching. This kid is so naïve but also wise beyond his years. I have nothing more to say other than go read it (that and I really running out of compliments, hehe. I must have ran out when I was writing the other ones)

Well that’s all for now folk because I have to do another list (no, I’m not done apparently; next time movies and tv show mix with some tunes), an AU couple analysis on Serena (and others), a chapter on CTB and STL, work, and hang out with mis friends. Oh and bond with my family because apparently we don’t bond enough (overbonding experience i tell you)

About Uninspired Fanfiction Writer

I work. I write on the blog. I write fanfiction. Hanging out with mis friends/Family. I'm so weird.

6 thoughts on “Long hot summer, no Gossip Girl Part 2 – Uninspired FF Writer Edition

  1. Maedy says:

    Secret circle trilogy by L.J smith? is that the one who made vampire diaries? i’m not into supernatural things but if he made some drama books then i will read it for sure..

    the only series novel i ever read is gossip girl. lol. once in a while i read danielle stellee novel. and johanna lindsey novel. oldies i know.

    i plan to read Pretty little liars novel. i heard it’s quite good..

    thanks for the recommendation. i’m gonna read the L.J smith one.

    • Yes ma’am that’s the same person for VD. Secret Circle more drama than supernatural (or at least I saw it that way). Oh I want to read PLL too (saying I have time)

      And the Host is so much better than the Twilight series combined. As for HP, I’ve stuck with that sereis for so long and I know several people who have yet to read them, but with a little convincing…

  2. Maedy says:

    and also, i never read Harry potter. i know i’m horrible person lol. maybe i’ll read it someday.

    but i won’t ever read anything written by stephanie meyer. twilight sucks so bad.. =D

  3. blairwaldorf09 says:

    I’ve read about half those books and I think they are awesome recommendations. Spelling Nazi though..Stephenie’s last name is Meyer, not Meyers haha..so I dunno if you wanna fix it.

  4. Je t'adore says:

    Except Harry Potter, I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned. I don’t think I’ll read the S. Meyer one because I hate her writing style. But the other ones sound awesome and I promise I’ll check them all out, you know how much I love reading. Thank you for taking the time of doing the post and recommending the books.

Leave a Reply

