Leighton Interview and Grazia Scans

Leighton Meester’s mother is the biggest inspiration in her life. The “Gossip Girl” star, who was born in prison and raised by her grandmother while her mother, father and grandfather served a jail term for smuggling marijuana from Jamaica to America, has always had the full backing of her parent, who taught her to stay true to herself.

“My mother Connie inspires me. She’s an amazing woman,” she explained to Grazia magazine. “When I was a kid I wanted to be an actress and she completely backed me. She is her own person, very eccentric, very individual.”

The 24-year-old star even had Connie’s support when she stopped going to school because she was being bullied. She said, “I was a bit of a goofball. I wanted to be a counselor, help people, but then I discovered this other side to people.”

“I was easy to pick on because of my acting. I realized that there are a lot of people out there who just aren’t very nice. I stopped going to school – I was a bit rebellious and just didn’t go. My mother was fine about it.”

SOURCE

About Je t'adore

I'm Cath but you can call me C. I graduated from University a few years ago and I have a degree in English and French lit. I write but I don't consider myself a writer, I've yet to let go of all my inhibitions and explore human nature. Maybe one day, when I'm grown up enough. CBthePP is a safe haven for me and one of the things I'm most proud of because it has given me so much and because I get to share it with so many wonderful people, including our readers.

8 thoughts on “Leighton Interview and Grazia Scans

  1. A says:

    She is so gorgeous, and I admire her so much for keeping her private life private no matter what, its the only way to be in her world if she wants to stay sane. She is a very smart girl, Love her!

  2. mimi says:

    leighton is being bullied?
    well..
    that kid who bullied leighton must be ashamed now..

    look what she has turned into !

    anyway she seems like a wise person and not famewhore person.
    love that side from her.

  3. kjewls says:

    Thanks so much for posting this! Reading this interview just makes me love and admire Leighton even more! I had heard she was born in a prison from some tabloid magazines. However, I never realized she came through the experience with such a positive attitude.

    A lesser actress would have shunned her parents and her roots, or worse, written some “Woe is me” tell- all book about her “rough family life.” Instead, Leighton seems secure in her relationship with her mother, and even proud of her. I think that’s very cool.

    It’s funny, I know a lot of actors and actresses say they were “dorks” and “nerds” in high school, but I never imagined it to be true for Leighton. I mean, she’s BLAIR WALDORF! Nobody messes with Blair, without paying a MAJOR price!

    I can’t imagine ANYONE bullying someone like Leighton, unless it was out of jealousy. And yet, it must have been really bad, for her to leave school as a result. You’re right, Mimi, Leighton’s bullies are definitely kicking themselves right now. They probably pump her gas for a living ;).

  4. mimi says:

    miley and heidi montag should be like leighton meester who is low profile and such a modest person.
    if every hollywood celeb like this i would love all celeb.

    but i love leighton the most !

  5. Really love the pics ❤

  6. mimz says:

    i admire leighton so much! shes so strong and just amazing! shes such a good role model! i love her so much!!! um, i tried zooming the pics but it didnt work.. i couldnt read it.. does anyone know where i can see this article? do u know the name of the magazine and also the date? thank u very much!

    • Je t'adore says:

      If you click on the pics and then save them on your computer, you’ll be able to read the article. The magazine is Grazia Daily UK and it’s this month’s edition.

  7. Sara says:

    she seems like a really genuine person ❤

Leave a Reply

